For art mediators

Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge Award for unconventional approaches to publicising art

Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge (1794–1867) was an all-rounder. Even today his interdisciplinary talents in chemistry and art are a benchmark for original approaches to publicising art and science. The award named after him was created in 1994 by the Stiftung Preussische Seehandlung, a foundation with historical roots in maritime trading.

Foto: Eine Person zeichnet auf einem Klemmbrett.
© Daniel Müller

It is granted to movers and shakers who depart from familiar methods of producing or promoting art and attempt something out of the ordinary in their field. The purse worth 10,000 euros is intended for investment in novel ventures in art, journalism or culture. The Friedlieb Ferdinand Runge Award for unconventional approaches to publicising art is awarded every two years in partnership with the Berlinische Galerie.


Year Winner Juror
2017 Dr. Stefan Kraus, art historian, director KOLUMBA. Art Museum of the Archdiocese of Cologne Matthias Flügge
2015 Dr. Gabriele Sprigath, art historian, Munich Christian Demand
2013 Harry Walter, verbal, visual and performance artist, Stuttgart Christian Demand
2011 Stephanie Baron (Los Angeles) and Eckhart Gillen (Berlin), exhibition curators Ulrich Eckhardt
2009 Prof. Dr. h.c. Peter Weibel, Karlsruhe, artist, curator, media theoretician, CEO of ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie) Ulrich Eckhardt
2007 Bernhard Leitner, Austrian sound/space artist and writer Nike Wagner
2005 Henning Ritter, editor of the "Humanities" page in the newspaper FAZ Nike Wagner
2003 Werner Dahlheim, Professor of Ancient History at TU Berlin
Volker Hunecke, Professor of Modern History at TU Berlin
Norbert Miller, Professor of German Philology, General and Comparative Literature
Wolf Lepenies
2001 Christel Hartmann-Fritsch, head of Schlesische 27, international youth centre for art and culture Wolf Lepenies
1999 Eske Nannen, art mediator, Emden Jörn Merkert
1997 Harald Szeemann, exhibition maker, Tegna/Switzerland Jörn Merkert
1995 Eberhard Blum, avant-garde musician, Berlin Jörn Merkert
1994 Matthias Flügge, art critic and writer, Berlin Eberhard Roters



Other Art Prizes

By using this website you agree to our privacy policy .